About Mr. Rash

Mr. Rash is in his seventeenth year as a band director in Odem-Edroy ISD, currently serving as the Director of Bands for the district. During his tenure in Odem the bands have earned numerous Sweepstakes Awards, First Divisions at Marching Contests, earned awards at other competitions and festivals, and advanced to back-to-back appearances at the UIL State Marching Band Contest in 2017 & 2019. His groups have had the distinction of numerous State Level appearances in the ATSSB Outstanding Performance Series Competition and TMEA Honor Band Competition. In 2014 under his direction the OJH Symphonic Winds were chosen as the State Runner Up in the OPS Concert March Selection. In 2019 the Odem HS Wind Ensemble placed 8th in the Finals of the TMEA 3A State Honor Band Contest. He led the Odem High School Wind Ensemble to a well received performance at Carnegie Hall in June of 2016.

Mr. Rash earned his Bachelors of Science Degree in Music Education from a joint program with Case Western Reserve University and The Cleveland Institute of Music in Cleveland, Ohio. He studied conducting under Dr. Gary Ciepluch, and jazz under Paul Ferguson. He studied his primary instrument of flute with Katheryne DeJongh and saxophone with Grammy Nominated Saxophonist Gregory Banaszak. He has performed with a number of college and community bands over the years. Mr. Rash currently performs as principal flute of The Corpus Christi Wind Symphony. A native of Farmington, NM, he returns annually as a faculty member at Hummingbird Music Camp in Jemez Springs, NM. He has previously taught in Aztec, NM and student taught in Chardon, OH.

Mr. Rash is a member of the Texas Music Adjudicators Association(TMAA), serves as Region Secretary for ATSSB Region XIV, has served as past Middle School Region Coordinator for the region, and is a member of TMEA, TBA, and ATSSB. In 2024 he was inducted into Phi Beta Mu, the International Bandmasters fraternity. He served as the ATSSB All-State Jazz Organizer for 2021-2023, and currently serves on the ATSSB State SARC committee.

Leave a Reply